I have just started using Dexpot 1.5.8 and like it very much. I have noticed one thing though.
I want to put icons on the various desktops to remote resources (i.e. network shares, programs, files, etc.) and when dexpot starts, if the network is not yet up, it seems to remove these icons. I then have to recreate them.
I assume Dexpot is trying to be helpful by removing icons it thinks are no longer valid, but they are... or rather will be again the minute the remote server actually finishes its boot cycle.
Would it be possible to change this behavior, or mark certain icons as "never remove automatically" or something?
After some research, I find this is NOT a Dexpot issue, it's a Windows 7 issue. The only way to fix this would be to make a copy of the "real" desktop icons and restore them when restoring Dexpot.