Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Feedback regarding the public beta of Dexpot is highly appreciated in this forum.

Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 24.10.2011 18:59:34

I really like the new feature allowing me to choose which monitors are affected by desktop switching. I have a request, however:

I do all of my work on a laptop. When at my workstation, the machine is docked and I have two good-size monitors to work with, but whenever I go to a meeting, I am supposed to bring the laptop with me, which means (of course) that I only have one monitor. For reasons I won't go into, the monitor I exclude from desktop switching when plugged in is the primary monitor (monitor "1"). As a result, when I undock, desktop switching is disabled for the only monitor I have at that point (since it is monitor 1). What I'd like is to be able to tell dexpot to only disable desktop switching on a monitor if there are, in fact, multiple monitors attached.

Thanks for a great product and a great-looking beta. :-)
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 24.10.2011 22:55:47

:dex:

smacdav wrote:What I'd like is to be able to tell dexpot to only disable desktop switching on a monitor if there are, in fact, multiple monitors attached.

Makes sense.
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 04.11.2011 17:36:26

Another issue: I find it confusing when I click on a window on the monitor that is excluded and the desktop switches on the other monitor. To me, monitor exclusion means that nothing I do on the excluded monitor should affect which desktop I'm on on the other monitor.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 04.11.2011 18:16:05

Doesn't sound like something that's supposed to happen. When and how exactly does the problem occur?
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 04.11.2011 19:19:56

It usually happens if I click on a Windows Explorer window on the excluded desktop after working on something on the other desktop for a while. I'll monitor for a bit and let you know if it seems to be when certain applications are active or not.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 07.11.2011 19:27:12

It just happened again; the desktop it switched to was running IBM Rational CM Synergy, which is something I run regularly. Also running were Lotus Notes and Eclipse, which I also run regularly. These three are running on Java VMs, in case that might be an issue.

Five other bits of software were running: Oracle vSphere Client, Notepad++, Programmer's Notepad, Visual Studio 2010, and Firefox 7.0.1. Except for vSphere Client, I am frequently running all of these.

I am also running numerous gadgets on my Windows 7 desktop; would you like to know what they are just in case?
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 07.11.2011 21:25:38

What's the option "behavior of windows on other desktops" set to? (Dexpot Settings -> Plugins and Extras)
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 07.11.2011 23:29:41

It is set to "Switch to the respective desktop", but since the monitor that the explorer window is on is excluded from switching, it seems like that shouldn't matter.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 07.11.2011 23:38:47

You're right, it shouldn't. Still, it's usually what's responsible for sudden, seemingly inexplicable desktop switches. I'll look into it.
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 01.12.2011 15:50:15

The latest build definitely fixes my original issue, but the switching desktops when clicking on windows on the excluded monitor seems worse. It also seems to be a random desktop that it switches to. I click on an application and the desktop switches. I go back to the original desktop and click on the same application; the desktop switches again, but to a different desktop than it switched to before. Sometimes it is just about impossible to use the application I want on the excluded monitor with the desktop I want showing on the other.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 01.12.2011 18:16:27

Follow up: The only way I can get the right desktop/application combination when it starts doing the random switching is by focusing the application and then switching to the desktop I want.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 02.12.2011 00:04:44

I'm unable to reproduce the problem. Could you please send me a log file?
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 03.12.2011 15:45:46

Try this test version. Save the attached file to your Dexpot installation folder, replacing the original dexpot.exe.

dexpot.exe
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 76 times
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 08.12.2011 21:34:20

Sorry, I was out of touch for a while there. I have just turned on logging, so I should have a log file for you in a while. I am now installing the test exe you posted. Thanks.
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav on 09.12.2011 19:44:36

The new exe seems to have fixed the problem. I'll let you know (and supply a log) if it recurs. Thanks! :D
smacdav
 

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby peleus on 29.03.2013 19:37:38

Hi. By any chance, were there any work around found here so far?
User avatar
peleus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29.03.2013 19:33:06

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick on 04.04.2013 13:30:35

A workaround for what exactly?
User avatar
Patrick
Developer
 
Posts: 7283
Joined: 04.03.2003 15:51:26


Return to Dexpot Public Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 0 guests