Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Feedback regarding the public beta of Dexpot is highly appreciated in this forum.
smacdav

Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 24.10.2011 18:59:34

I really like the new feature allowing me to choose which monitors are affected by desktop switching. I have a request, however:

I do all of my work on a laptop. When at my workstation, the machine is docked and I have two good-size monitors to work with, but whenever I go to a meeting, I am supposed to bring the laptop with me, which means (of course) that I only have one monitor. For reasons I won't go into, the monitor I exclude from desktop switching when plugged in is the primary monitor (monitor "1"). As a result, when I undock, desktop switching is disabled for the only monitor I have at that point (since it is monitor 1). What I'd like is to be able to tell dexpot to only disable desktop switching on a monitor if there are, in fact, multiple monitors attached.

Thanks for a great product and a great-looking beta. :-)

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 24.10.2011 22:55:47

:dex:

smacdav wrote:What I'd like is to be able to tell dexpot to only disable desktop switching on a monitor if there are, in fact, multiple monitors attached.

Makes sense.

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 04.11.2011 16:36:26

Another issue: I find it confusing when I click on a window on the monitor that is excluded and the desktop switches on the other monitor. To me, monitor exclusion means that nothing I do on the excluded monitor should affect which desktop I'm on on the other monitor.

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 04.11.2011 17:16:05

Doesn't sound like something that's supposed to happen. When and how exactly does the problem occur?

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 04.11.2011 18:19:56

It usually happens if I click on a Windows Explorer window on the excluded desktop after working on something on the other desktop for a while. I'll monitor for a bit and let you know if it seems to be when certain applications are active or not.

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 07.11.2011 18:27:12

It just happened again; the desktop it switched to was running IBM Rational CM Synergy, which is something I run regularly. Also running were Lotus Notes and Eclipse, which I also run regularly. These three are running on Java VMs, in case that might be an issue.

Five other bits of software were running: Oracle vSphere Client, Notepad++, Programmer's Notepad, Visual Studio 2010, and Firefox 7.0.1. Except for vSphere Client, I am frequently running all of these.

I am also running numerous gadgets on my Windows 7 desktop; would you like to know what they are just in case?

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 07.11.2011 20:25:38

What's the option "behavior of windows on other desktops" set to? (Dexpot Settings -> Plugins and Extras)

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 07.11.2011 22:29:41

It is set to "Switch to the respective desktop", but since the monitor that the explorer window is on is excluded from switching, it seems like that shouldn't matter.

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 07.11.2011 22:38:47

You're right, it shouldn't. Still, it's usually what's responsible for sudden, seemingly inexplicable desktop switches. I'll look into it.

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 01.12.2011 14:50:15

The latest build definitely fixes my original issue, but the switching desktops when clicking on windows on the excluded monitor seems worse. It also seems to be a random desktop that it switches to. I click on an application and the desktop switches. I go back to the original desktop and click on the same application; the desktop switches again, but to a different desktop than it switched to before. Sometimes it is just about impossible to use the application I want on the excluded monitor with the desktop I want showing on the other.

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 01.12.2011 17:16:27

Follow up: The only way I can get the right desktop/application combination when it starts doing the random switching is by focusing the application and then switching to the desktop I want.

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 01.12.2011 23:04:44

I'm unable to reproduce the problem. Could you please send me a log file?

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 03.12.2011 14:45:46

Try this test version. Save the attached file to your Dexpot installation folder, replacing the original dexpot.exe.

dexpot.exe
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 188 times

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 08.12.2011 20:34:20

Sorry, I was out of touch for a while there. I have just turned on logging, so I should have a log file for you in a while. I am now installing the test exe you posted. Thanks.

smacdav

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby smacdav » 09.12.2011 18:44:36

The new exe seems to have fixed the problem. I'll let you know (and supply a log) if it recurs. Thanks! :D

User avatar
peleus
Posts: 3
Joined: 29.03.2013 18:33:06

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby peleus » 29.03.2013 18:37:38

Hi. By any chance, were there any work around found here so far?

User avatar
Patrick
Developer
Posts: 7380
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:51:26

Re: Monitor exclusion for desktop switching

Postby Patrick » 04.04.2013 13:30:35

A workaround for what exactly?


Return to “Dexpot Public Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests