Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Post any technical problems or questions you have while using or configuring Dexpot.
Bug-Tracker
opusman
Posts: 4
Joined: 01.05.2007 23:58:19

Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby opusman » 04.08.2015 03:50:20

Hi,

Mostly Dexpot seems to work well on Windows 10 but one problem I've found is that when switched to an alternate desktop, the Windows 10 start menu search no longer works (it comes up black). It actually looks like the search results are appearing on the primary desktop instead of the alternate one.

ParaCanary

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby ParaCanary » 05.08.2015 22:01:16

Not a fix but an observation which may lead to a fix
In Windows 10 Dexpot go to full screen catalog. On the primary desktop you will see Cortana. Control click on this and copy to all the desktops. Then in full screen catalog go to another desktop and click on Cortana and search will work in that window. I did try rules to copy Cortana (searchUI.exe) to all desktops but that did not work. Dot a fix but does give insight into what is wrong.

angang
Posts: 3
Joined: 07.08.2015 17:47:24

Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby angang » 07.08.2015 17:57:07

Hello,

When in full screen preview, there is many icons relate to microsoft apps that are not opened.
Here is a preview :
https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4x41ahio4f5y ... 9.jpg?dl=0

Could you resolve this bug ?

Thanks

Vlad

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Vlad » 09.08.2015 14:08:37

I can confirm this problem. And from time to time, when I press Start button, it switches my view to primary desktop (and sometimes not). And I do not have Cortana in full screen catalog, so I can't use workaround provided by ParaCanary. I also tried to copy anything that related to Start menu and Search to all virtual desktops, but it doesn't worked for me either. This bug is very annoying.

User avatar
Sebastian
Developer
Posts: 5171
Joined: 04.03.2003 14:47:54
Location: Dinslaken
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby Sebastian » 10.08.2015 10:05:31

:dex:,

thank you for reporting.

Copy the file attached into the Dexpot main directory.
Please confirm this fixes the issue after restarting Dexpot and Windows.
Attachments
mywechsel.ini
Windows 10 mywechsel.ini
(43 Bytes) Downloaded 1515 times
Best regards (wave)
Sebastian Brands, Dexpot GbR

Vlad

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby Vlad » 10.08.2015 23:26:07

Sebastian wrote::dex:,

thank you for reporting.

Copy the file attached into the Dexpot main directory.
Please confirm this fixes the issue after restarting Dexpot.


Thank you, the search is now working fine on all virtual desktops, but "desktop switch" bug is still present. E.g. when I switching from the desktop with opened windows\applications, to the desktop that don't have any open window\application (if it has any opened window the bug isn't happening), and open Start menu by using a keyboard (hitting "Windows" button on the keyboard or pressing Ctrl + Esc) and then close it by pressing Esc or "Windows" button again, without activating (clicking) an item in it, Dexpot will switch view to the previous active desktop, which have an open window/application. Only way to prevent this from happening is to click on the desktop beforehand or activate an element in Start menu (e.g to launch a program) OR close Start menu by clicking with mouse button on Start icon or anywhere on the Desktop (in short words - to "activate" that desktop using a cursor). In this case desktop won't switch back. When I open Start menu by clicking left mouse button I can close it by any availible means - the bug will not manifest itself.

That some long and intricate description, if I ever saw one :)

opusman
Posts: 4
Joined: 01.05.2007 23:58:19

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby opusman » 10.08.2015 23:45:34

Sebastian wrote:Copy the file attached into the Dexpot main directory.
Please confirm this fixes the issue after restarting Dexpot.


Fixed! Thank you!

angang
Posts: 3
Joined: 07.08.2015 17:47:24

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby angang » 11.08.2015 03:47:56

Thank you, it seems ok now

angang
Posts: 3
Joined: 07.08.2015 17:47:24

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby angang » 16.08.2015 00:45:42

Hello finaly the problem still persists.

paracanary
Posts: 4
Joined: 24.08.2015 03:10:43

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby paracanary » 24.08.2015 03:21:24

I have the same problem and this is what I did to tidy things up a bit. Uninstall any modern apps which you will not use. Create a rule to move a modern apps to a specific desktop which I label modern apps. This way, the modern apps are not scattered all over on full screen preview but are nicely gathered on desktop for you to use.

Vlad

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby Vlad » 24.08.2015 15:19:57

Confirming this problem. Fix doesn't help.

User

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby User » 25.08.2015 10:47:49

Fix doesn't work. For some strange reason the Windows Store app and the Windows Photo app (native apps) are visible in full screen preview while I haven't opened them.

stevobe
Posts: 2
Joined: 17.08.2015 11:22:23

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby stevobe » 26.08.2015 17:36:00

Here the same problem that attachment file doesn work at all for me photo app and store or sometimes my calculator are vissbile in the full screen preview... please FIX this issue .... !!!!

using windows 10 pro 64bit

Thanks

paracanary
Posts: 4
Joined: 24.08.2015 03:10:43

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby paracanary » 26.08.2015 22:25:09

Here is a screen shot of "full screen preview" with all modern apps automatically moved to desktop 3.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=774C99A66C9F738!111&authkey=!APdq3dt-ddxOgTU&ithint=folder%2cjpg
The modern apps are hard coded in windows 10 to automatically preload unless you delete the program. There are some modern apps which I want to use so this work around organizes the modern apps so that they are not all over all the desktops. Just make a rule to move executable is applicationframehost.exe to the desktop of your choice and check all the boxes for do not apply rule to.

Guest

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby Guest » 27.08.2015 16:11:35

paracanary wrote:Here is a screen shot of "full screen preview" with all modern apps automatically moved to desktop 3.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=774C99A66C9F738!111&authkey=!APdq3dt-ddxOgTU&ithint=folder%2cjpg
The modern apps are hard coded in windows 10 to automatically preload unless you delete the program. There are some modern apps which I want to use so this work around organizes the modern apps so that they are not all over all the desktops. Just make a rule to move executable is applicationframehost.exe to the desktop of your choice and check all the boxes for do not apply rule to.


It's a good workaround, but I hope for a fix in the near future.

cyb
Posts: 5
Joined: 19.09.2014 10:32:13

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby cyb » 12.09.2015 20:41:00

Same here... very annoying issue... Hope we'll get a fix soon :?

cyb
Posts: 5
Joined: 19.09.2014 10:32:13

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby cyb » 29.10.2015 21:18:43

I've used paracanary's workaround.
Works well, but one of my desktop is now filled with useless MS preload apps...
Any chance to get a fix for this annoying win10 behavior ?

Correction : does'nt work... ghosts windows continue to pop randomly in any space :-/
See below definitive solution : deactivate windows 10 prefetch service.
Last edited by cyb on 02.01.2016 10:03:55, edited 1 time in total.

paracanary
Posts: 4
Joined: 24.08.2015 03:10:43

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby paracanary » 31.10.2015 01:05:55

If the microsoft apps are useless, just delete the ones you do not want to reduce clutter
Here is how
http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4689-apps-uninstall-windows-10-a.html#option2

stragulus
Posts: 1
Joined: 26.11.2015 03:54:48

Re: Windows 10 problem

Postby stragulus » 26.11.2015 03:57:23

I had a similar issue. Just 1 physical display, multiple workspaces. Pressing WIN+Q to bring up search worked only on one workspace, or at some point never at all. The ini file fixed this. Any chance this can become part of the standard distribution? I upgraded to windows 10 (and latests dexpot) last weekend and this was still a necessary action.

Thanks!

gattaca
Posts: 2
Joined: 11.05.2013 16:15:47

Re: Windows 10 bug with Microsoft apps

Postby gattaca » 28.11.2015 20:11:51

The solution of installing the mywechsel.ini file in this thread seems to have fixed the ghost "store" windows on my system for now. I had the issue with the MS store window placing itself on every preview window on my 6 desktops. Annoying.
This was an upgrade from 8.1 Pro to 10 Pro. Long time Dexpot customer. Thanks.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest